Review – MAKE Literary Productions, NFP http://makemag.com MAKE Literary Productions is partially supported by The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation, The Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelly Foundation, the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, and individual contributors. Mon, 22 Jan 2018 01:47:14 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.2 Review: Disaster Drawn by Hillary L. Chute http://makemag.com/review-disaster-drawn-chute/ Thu, 18 Jan 2018 20:56:13 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15819 Review: Nabokov’s Favorite Word is Mauve by Ben Blatt http://makemag.com/review-nabokovs-favorite-word-is-mauve/ Mon, 15 Jan 2018 18:13:08 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15754 Review: Whole Earth Field Guide http://makemag.com/review-whole-earth-field-guide/ Tue, 02 Jan 2018 18:01:15 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15740 Review: Extreme Domesticity by Lillian Lu http://makemag.com/review-extreme-domesticity/ Tue, 26 Dec 2017 22:27:03 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15719 Review: Graveyard Clay by Máirtín Ó Cadhain http://makemag.com/review-graveyard-clay/ Mon, 13 Nov 2017 17:10:56 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15473 Review: Hospital Series by Amelia Rosselli http://makemag.com/review-hospital-series/ Mon, 06 Nov 2017 18:04:27 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15457 Review: Origins by Reiner Schürmann http://makemag.com/review-origins-by-reiner-schurmann/ Fri, 03 Nov 2017 18:33:45 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15454 Double Review: Afterlives and Medieval Europe http://makemag.com/double-review-afterlives-and-medieval-europe/ Thu, 21 Sep 2017 17:13:36 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15396 Review: Ghostland by Colin Dickey http://makemag.com/review-ghostland/ Tue, 19 Sep 2017 14:15:04 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15389 Review: Queer Philologies by Jeffrey Masten http://makemag.com/review-queer-philologies/ Thu, 13 Jul 2017 18:21:12 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15358 Review: Blue Yodel by Ansel Elkins http://makemag.com/review-blue-yodel/ Wed, 21 Jun 2017 19:41:54 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15333 Review: Adjusted Margin by Kate Eichhorn http://makemag.com/review-adjusted-margin/ Tue, 23 May 2017 17:16:49 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15251 Review: The Work-Shy by BLUNT RESEARCH GROUP http://makemag.com/review-the-work-shy/ Mon, 01 May 2017 16:18:13 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15237 Double Review: Literature After Euclid by Matthew Wickman, and Mathematics in Twentieth-Century Literature and Art by Robert Tubbs http://makemag.com/double-review-literature-after-euclid-and-mathematics-in-twentieth-century-literature-and-art/ Thu, 27 Apr 2017 17:44:38 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15228 Homegoing by Yaa Gyaasi http://makemag.com/homegoing-by-yaa-gyaasi/ Fri, 17 Mar 2017 18:13:51 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15208 Double Review: Cowed by Denis and Gail Boyer Hayes, and Animal Trials by Edward Payson Evans http://makemag.com/double-review-cowed-by-denis-and-gail-boyer-hayes-and-animal-trials-by-edward-payson-evans/ Thu, 02 Mar 2017 16:47:13 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15170 Review: Goat’s Milk by Frank Ormsby http://makemag.com/review-goats-milk/ Tue, 28 Feb 2017 17:47:28 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15159 Review: Newcomers Book One by Lojze Kovačič http://makemag.com/review-newcomers-book-one/ Tue, 31 Jan 2017 18:19:38 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15147 Newcomers

]]>
Review: The Hermit by Lucy Ives http://makemag.com/review-the-hermit-by-lucy-ives/ Tue, 24 Jan 2017 18:07:40 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15139 Review: The Limits of Critique by Rita Felski http://makemag.com/review-the-limits-of-critique/ Wed, 30 Nov 2016 16:22:04 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15112 In the Wake: On Blackness and Being by Christina Sharpe http://makemag.com/in-the-wake/ Tue, 04 Oct 2016 20:02:06 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15105 Review: The Experimenters by Eva Diaz http://makemag.com/review-the-experimenters/ Fri, 30 Sep 2016 16:17:09 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15101 Review: The Hatred of Poetry by Ben Lerner http://makemag.com/review-the-hatred-of-poetry/ Fri, 16 Sep 2016 15:39:56 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15093 Review: The New Math by Christopher J. Phillips http://makemag.com/review-the-new-math-by-christopher-j-phillips/ Tue, 13 Sep 2016 18:42:33 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15090 Review: Scott Laderman’s Empire in Waves http://makemag.com/review-empire-in-waves/ Fri, 12 Aug 2016 14:17:12 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15080 Review: Robert Glück’s Communal Nude: Collected Essays http://makemag.com/review-communal-nude/ Tue, 02 Aug 2016 18:44:21 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15064 Review: Modernist Fiction and Vagueness by Megan Quigley http://makemag.com/review-modernist-fiction-and-vagueness/ Thu, 28 Jul 2016 20:25:50 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15059 Review: Barbarian Days by William Finnegan http://makemag.com/review-barbarian-days/ Mon, 11 Jul 2016 19:13:26 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15050 Review: Trees, Woods and Forests by Charles Watkins http://makemag.com/review-trees-woods-and-forests/ Thu, 07 Jul 2016 16:01:57 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15046 Review: A Listener’s Guide to Free Improvisation by John Corbett http://makemag.com/review-a-listeners-guide-to-free-improvisation/ Fri, 10 Jun 2016 18:09:31 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15026 Review: The Castrato by Martha Feldman http://makemag.com/review-the-castrato/ Mon, 30 May 2016 12:36:09 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15019 Review: A Manual for Cleaning Women http://makemag.com/review-a-manual-for-cleaning-women-2/ Sat, 30 Apr 2016 12:01:43 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=15015 Review: Dreamland of Humanists by Emily Levine http://makemag.com/review-dreamland-of-humanists/ Tue, 05 Apr 2016 17:39:32 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14999 Review: The School of Solitude by Luis Hernández http://makemag.com/review-the-school-of-solitude/ Wed, 30 Mar 2016 18:55:33 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14992 Review: The Bloomsbury Introduction to Popular Fiction http://makemag.com/review-the-bloomsbury-introduction-to-popular-fiction/ Mon, 22 Feb 2016 18:08:39 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14965 Review: Seeing Red by Lina Meruane http://makemag.com/review-seeing-red/ Tue, 16 Feb 2016 20:54:21 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14958 Review: Spontaneous Particulars by Susan Howe http://makemag.com/review-spontaneous-particulars-by-susan-howe/ Tue, 09 Feb 2016 16:30:41 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14955 Review: The Work of Revision by Hannah Sullivan http://makemag.com/review-the-work-of-revision-by-hannah-sullivan/ Tue, 26 Jan 2016 17:08:27 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14903 Review: The Notebook by Agota Kristof http://makemag.com/review-the-notebook-2/ Thu, 21 Jan 2016 16:58:45 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14897 the notebook]]> Review: Gut Feminism by Elizabeth A. Wilson http://makemag.com/gut-feminism-by-elizabeth-a-wilson-2/ Fri, 08 Jan 2016 18:54:05 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14844 Review: Severed by Frances Larson http://makemag.com/review-severed/ Tue, 13 Oct 2015 17:00:32 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14581 Review: Why Literary Periods Mattered by Ted Underwood http://makemag.com/review-why-literary-periods-mattered/ Thu, 08 Oct 2015 18:58:57 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14577 Review: Lesabéndio by Paul Scheerbart http://makemag.com/review-lesabendio/ Tue, 06 Oct 2015 18:10:49 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14571 Review: The New Sylva by Gabriel Hemery and Sarah Simblet http://makemag.com/review-the-new-sylva/ Thu, 01 Oct 2015 13:40:53 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14562 Review: Byssus by Jen Hadfield http://makemag.com/review-byssus/ Tue, 29 Sep 2015 17:39:07 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14556 Review: Red Cavalry by Isaac Babel http://makemag.com/review-red-calvary/ Thu, 24 Sep 2015 17:11:02 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14545 Review: Having It All in the Belle Epoque by Rachel Mesch http://makemag.com/review-having-it-all-in-the-belle-epoque/ Thu, 17 Sep 2015 13:32:02 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14524 Review: The Age of Secrecy by Daniel Jütte http://makemag.com/review-the-age-of-secrecy/ Tue, 15 Sep 2015 14:06:40 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14498 Review: Outline by Rachel Cusk http://makemag.com/review-outline/ Thu, 10 Sep 2015 17:39:22 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14490 Review: How Paris Became Paris by Joan DeJean http://makemag.com/review-how-paris-became-paris/ Thu, 03 Sep 2015 16:54:04 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14481 Review: Beast Feast by Cody-rose Clevidence http://makemag.com/review-beast-feast/ Tue, 01 Sep 2015 16:50:02 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14473 Review: Cloning Wild Life by Carrie Friese http://makemag.com/review-cloning-wild-life/ Thu, 27 Aug 2015 16:45:43 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14458 Review: The Duke and the Stars by Monica Azzolini http://makemag.com/review-the-duke-and-the-stars-2/ Tue, 25 Aug 2015 17:43:47 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14453 Review: The Sellout by Paul Beatty http://makemag.com/review-the-sellout/ Thu, 20 Aug 2015 17:44:51 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14402 Review: Honeydew by Edith Pearlman http://makemag.com/review-honeydew/ Tue, 18 Aug 2015 15:38:24 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14381 Review: Christian Bobin’s The Lady in White http://makemag.com/review-the-lady-in-white/ Wed, 29 Jul 2015 16:52:10 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14299 Double Review: A Composer’s Guide to Game Music and Sound Play http://makemag.com/double-review-composers-guide-to-game-music-and-sound-play/ Fri, 17 Jul 2015 14:28:05 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14229 Review: Kamal Jann by Dominque Eddé http://makemag.com/review-kamal-jann/ Wed, 15 Jul 2015 14:54:25 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14219 Review: The Labors of Modernism by Mary Wilson http://makemag.com/review-the-labors-of-modernism/ Thu, 09 Jul 2015 18:55:24 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14184 Review: Modernism and Cosmology: Absurd Lights by Katherine Ebury http://makemag.com/review-modernism-and-cosmology/ Tue, 07 Jul 2015 15:31:46 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14180 Review: The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman http://makemag.com/review-the-magicians-land/ Tue, 30 Jun 2015 16:11:48 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14161 Review: 1914 by Jean Echenoz http://makemag.com/review-1914-by-jean-echenoz/ Tue, 23 Jun 2015 17:08:22 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14102 Review: Panaesthetics by Daniel Albright http://makemag.com/review-panaesthetics-by-daniel-albright/ Fri, 12 Jun 2015 16:15:39 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14074 Review: The Birth of Theory By Andrew Cole http://makemag.com/review-the-birth-of-theory/ Tue, 09 Jun 2015 16:31:22 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14069 Review: The Middle Ages by Johannes Fried http://makemag.com/review-the-middle-ages-by-johannes-fried/ Thu, 28 May 2015 16:43:15 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14043 Review: The Library A World History by James Campbell http://makemag.com/review-the-library-a-world-history-by-james-campbell/ Tue, 26 May 2015 19:21:13 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14039 Review: Bough Down by Karen Green http://makemag.com/review-bough-down-by-karen-green/ Thu, 21 May 2015 18:02:01 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=14035 Bough Down]]> Review: Nothing and Everything by Ellen Pearlman http://makemag.com/review-nothing-and-everything-by-ellen-pearlman/ Tue, 10 Feb 2015 17:56:35 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13957 Review: Outside Verdun by Arnold Zweig http://makemag.com/review-outside-verdun-by-arnold-zweig/ Tue, 03 Feb 2015 17:53:35 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13928 Review: The Book of Kells http://makemag.com/review-the-book-of-kells/ Thu, 29 Jan 2015 18:03:44 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13920 Review: The Teller’s Tale: Lives of the Classic Fairy Tale Writers http://makemag.com/review-the-tellers-tale-lives-of-the-classic-fairy-tale-writers/ Tue, 27 Jan 2015 14:54:06 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13913 Review: Terrestrial Variations by Jane Griffiths http://makemag.com/review-terrestrial-variations-by-jane-griffiths/ Thu, 22 Jan 2015 18:19:35 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13894 Review: Unmarriages by Ruth Mazo Karras http://makemag.com/review-unmarriages-by-ruth-mazo-karras/ Tue, 20 Jan 2015 18:17:40 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13888 Review: The Material Letter In Early Modern England by James Daybell http://makemag.com/review-the-material-letter-in-early-modern-england-by-james-daybell/ Thu, 15 Jan 2015 17:22:51 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13880 Review: Poems By François Villon http://makemag.com/review-poems-by-francois-villon/ Mon, 12 Jan 2015 22:00:52 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13864 Review: The Rhythm of Thought by Jessica Wiskus http://makemag.com/review-the-rhythm-of-thought-by-jessica-wiskus/ Thu, 08 Jan 2015 16:32:49 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13857 Review: Torture of Women by Nancy Spero http://makemag.com/review-torture-of-women-by-nancy-spero/ Tue, 06 Jan 2015 17:25:41 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13850 Review: Documenting Science by Berenice Abbott http://makemag.com/review-documenting-science-by-berenice-abbott/ Mon, 29 Dec 2014 21:40:40 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13835 Review: Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi http://makemag.com/review-ghana-must-go-by-taiye-selasi/ Tue, 23 Dec 2014 14:08:16 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13830 Review: The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton http://makemag.com/review-the-luminaries-by-eleanor-catton/ Wed, 17 Dec 2014 16:27:30 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13818 Review: Philosophy Between the Lines by Arthur Melzer http://makemag.com/review-philosophy-between-the-lines-by-arthur-melzer/ Tue, 09 Dec 2014 20:13:47 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13763 Review: Fives and Twenty-Fives by Michael Pitre http://makemag.com/review-fives-and-twenty-fives-by-michael-pitre-3/ Wed, 12 Nov 2014 15:39:01 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13699 Review: Maurice Blanchot and Fragmentary Writing by Leslie Hill http://makemag.com/review-maurice-blanchot-and-fragmentary-writing-by-leslie-hill-2/ Tue, 04 Nov 2014 19:40:00 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13680 Review: Richard Burton’s A Strong Song Tows Us: The Life of Basil Bunting http://makemag.com/review-richard-burtons-a-strong-song-tows-us-the-life-of-basil-bunting/ Tue, 21 Oct 2014 16:39:35 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13662 Review: Hypothermia by Álvaro Enrigue http://makemag.com/review-hypothermia-by-alvaro-enrigue/ Mon, 13 Oct 2014 13:43:14 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13650 Review: Saint Friend by Carl Adamshick http://makemag.com/review-saint-friend-by-carl-adamshick/ Tue, 07 Oct 2014 11:54:18 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13630 Review: The Phonemes by Frances Richard http://makemag.com/review-the-phonemes-by-francis-richards/ Tue, 23 Sep 2014 16:28:50 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13606 Review: Glowing Enigmas by Nelly Sachs http://makemag.com/review-glowing-enigmas-by-nelly-sachs/ Thu, 18 Sep 2014 13:49:45 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13573 Review: Ralph Ellison and the Genius of America http://makemag.com/review-ralph-ellison-and-the-genius-of-america-3/ Thu, 11 Sep 2014 15:58:47 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13565 Review: Testo Junkie by Beatriz Preciado http://makemag.com/review-testo-junkie-by-beatriz-preciado/ Tue, 09 Sep 2014 14:29:56 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13456 Review: The Music Between Us by Kathleen Marie Higgins http://makemag.com/review-the-music-between-us-by-kathleen-marie-higgins/ Tue, 02 Sep 2014 17:12:36 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13304 Review: Redeployment by Phil Klay http://makemag.com/review-redeployment-by-phil-klay/ Thu, 28 Aug 2014 14:08:55 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13275 Review: Heart-Pine Russia by Jane T. Costlow http://makemag.com/review-heart-pine-russia-by-jane-t-costlow-2/ Tue, 26 Aug 2014 18:17:24 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13261 Review: My Life by Isadora Duncan http://makemag.com/review-my-life-by-isadora-duncan/ Thu, 21 Aug 2014 14:05:20 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13230 Review: Tradition and the Formation of the Talmud by Moulie Vidas http://makemag.com/review-tradition-and-the-formation-of-the-talmud-by-moulie-vidas/ Tue, 19 Aug 2014 15:32:12 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13223 Review: Atomic Comics by Ferenc Morton Szasz http://makemag.com/review-atomic-comics-by-ferenc-morton-szasz/ Thu, 07 Aug 2014 14:05:19 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13213 Review: Verdi Reception http://makemag.com/review-verdi-reception/ Tue, 05 Aug 2014 19:22:44 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13205 Review: White Girls by Hilton Als http://makemag.com/review-white-girls-by-hilton-als/ Thu, 31 Jul 2014 14:53:42 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13195 Review: Geoffrey Hill’s Broken Hierarchies http://makemag.com/review-geoffrey-hills-broken-hierarchies/ Tue, 29 Jul 2014 14:34:05 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13178 Review: Representation in Western Music http://makemag.com/review-representation-in-western-music/ Tue, 01 Jul 2014 13:46:24 +0000 http://makemag.com/?p=13166